Avoid Overcomplification: In writing & In life

The term comes from author Stephen Graham Jones. It is exactly the way it sounds. For Jones, it means unnecessary plot twists, turns, blindsides, and even characters, which I have been guilty of in my fiction as well, but it also applies to any writing, really (& to life as a whole).

There is a reason I have started five blogs that have written themselves out of existence, before they really got started. There is a reason that I struggle with how to start an article, essay, proposal, or any large project when I don’t have a deadline barreling down on me. There is a reason my play has been shelved at a couple dozen pages and my novel is in a file cabinet. Overcomplification.

To complicate it further, this applies to life as well.

How many times to we bog ourselves down before tackling a life goal with all the firsts we have to accomplish?

I’d love to take up mountain biking, but I am too out of shape.

I have to quit smoking before I join a gym.

I have to join a gym before I quit smoking.

I would like to take a class on web design, but I need to learn more about the Internet first.

These sound like lame excuses, yes, but I have heard (or used) all of them. And in your mind, at the time, it sounds perfectly reasonable to believe that you have to do one thing before the other. Four years ago, I started catching on to this attribute in myself and in my writing and doing something about it. This series is about how I simplified my life over the last four years ago and started setting and accomplishing my goals.

Leave a Reply

